Always update your web browser!*

Except when this happens...

Always make sure your web browser, like Chrome, Edge, Safari, and Firefox, is the latest version.

But beware of this browser scam designed to install malware on your computer.

Use your mouse to control the slider bar below and spot clues that this email is a phish.

5dc801_cf012774264a4b70aecff8bdc9676561~mv2Before and After right
The lesson: never click on the link in an email, text message, or on a website instructing you to update your browser.
Instead, set the browser on your personal computer to update itself automatically by doing this:
  • Google Chrome: Usually updates automatically, but you can check by going to Settings > About Chrome.
  • Mozilla Firefox: Go to Options > General > Firefox Updates and make sure it is set to install updates automatically.
  • Microsoft Edge: Go to Settings > About Microsoft Edge to check for updates and make sure automatic updates are enabled.
  • Safari (macOS): Make sure automatic updates are enabled in System Preferences > Software Update.

Cybersecurity News You Can Use

50 MILLION USERS SHOULD DELETE THIS APP — One of the most popular news apps in the world, NewsBreak, publishes inaccurate stories that appear to be generated by AI. A Reuters investigation concludes that the app is funded by groups tied to Pegasus, spyware known to steal personal data from users’ smartphones.

CAR PHISH — If you get a phone call or email with questions or instructions about a car purchase you made recently, be suspicious. Don’t assume the message is legit. That’s because CDK, a company whose technologies are used by thousands of car dealerships, has suffered a crippling ransomware attack. The Wall Street Journal says these dealerships must use pen and paper to complete car sales. Buyers’ personal information leaked during the cyberattack may soon lead to phishing attacks.

HOW SKIMMERS WORK — This video will encourage you to test the card reader at a gas station, ATM, or store before inserting your credit or debit card. Check out this footage of “skimmers,” designed to steal data on the magnetic stripe and make fraudulent charges and withdrawals.

One more thing...

Check out these tech and social media logo animations created by Jigar Patel

(@jigpx), a 3D artist based in New Jersey, USA.

He has nearly five million followers!

Answers to Your
Cybersecurity Questions

“I use Kaspersky anti-virus software on my (personal) computer. I read they’re about to be banned in the U.S. Do I have to change to some other brand? Will I get a refund?” (Marc S.)

Yes, you’ll have to begin using different anti-virus software on computers you own by the end of September. BankInfoSecurity says the US Commerce Department is banning Kaspersky in the United States because it found “significant national security risks” within the Russian-based company. To request a refund on your subscription, contact Kaspersky Customer Support and provide them with the date of purchase and your name and email address. If your subscription is about to renew, cancel it now. As for a replacement, TechRadar recommends Bitdefender, Norton, and Avast as anti-virus brands for Windows computers. And for Mac, Bitdefender, Intego, Norton 360, and Trend Micro.
“I read online that old, deleted photos have started reappearing on iPhones. Is Apple secretly keeping our photos?” (Susan C.)

No, photos are gone when you delete them from your iPhone. However, if you have backed up the photos and other data from your phone or computer, it’s possible that the backup likely still includes those old photos. 9to5Mac says that’s probably what happened here. Apple has fixed the issue in its latest iPhone software update.

Even with this glitch, it’s wise to automatically back up the files on your phone and personal computer to a hard drive or the cloud. And before you sell, donate, or discard your old phone, erase it completely.

For an iPhone: Go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

For Android phones, go to Settings > Select System > Tap Reset Options > Choose Erase all data (factory reset) > Tap Reset phone > Tap Erase everything > Enter your PIN or other security setup > Select Erase all data again to confirm.

“Is it safer to use an app or its website?” (epluribusunum)

The Washington Post says that once you’ve downloaded an app, its owners can collect information that websites cannot easily obtain. “Apps might pass on the information to advertising companies and data brokers.”

“In the most recent newsletter, you mentioned using ‘virtual credit card numbers’ as a safer way to make purchases. What are those, and how do you get one?” (braintrustsecretary, albertf)

A virtual credit card number is a one-time-use card number attached to your real credit card. It will appear as a payment option when you’re buying something online. WalletHub says virtual cards make it safer to shop online, but you should still monitor your credit card transactions and credit reports for signs of suspicious activity. Remember, you don’t need a virtual credit card to avoid losing money since all major credit cards guarantee customers a $0 fraud liability.

Send us your cybersecurity question for possible use in a future newsletter.

Happy Independence Day across the U.S.!

Cartoon © CartoonStock | Original content © 2024 Aware Force LLC